Power of Empathy

by Steve McCurry

December 7th, 2018 - March 7th, 2019

Rubem Robierb was born in 1976 in the northern state of Maranhão, Brazil. He is a fine art photographer and skilled graphic artist whose work merges his edgy Latin background to the skillful commercial art market. As a young fashion photographer ... read more

Il faut beaucoup d'empathie pour dépeindre une autre personne. Comment peut-il pas? Après tout, nous sommes des humains, nous sommes tous pareils. La même chose. Chacun a de la beauté à l'intérieur, que ce soit dans le sourire, sur un geste ou même à travers un regard. Et les regards peuvent être si puissants, tout aussi puissants que l’empathie.

 

Le photographe documentaire Steve McCurry est sans aucun doute l'un des photographes les plus importants et les plus emblématiques de notre époque. Ce qui le rend spécial, c'est l'empathie qui jaillit de ses lentilles jusqu'à l'œil pleureur du spectateur, qui ne peut alors être indifférent à la merveilleuse tristesse ou à la béatitude douloureuse des couleurs. Des textures désormais imprimées dans nos esprits. L'inconscient collectif est alors entouré par l'exubérance de chaque photographie. Agent de dénonciation des horreurs de la guerre, Steve McCurry apporte à son public la paix. Quelle est la différence entre ce qui est réel et ce qui est vu et connu seulement de ses yeux? Cette même image, ces mêmes yeux verts avec le châle rouge, cette image est insérée dans le subconscient de nombreuses personnes. Nous connaissons tous cette fille, nous l'avons vue à travers ses yeux. Mais lui, oh il est le seul qui connaisse son regard. Comment ne perd-il pas le lien avec les sujets de sa vue? Comment ne pleure-t-il pas?

 

Un bon photographe de portrait a besoin de plus qu'un bon éclairage et des compétences favorables, il a besoin de la capacité de se connecter avec la personne qui se tient de l'autre côté de son enquête. Il a besoin de ressentir les sentiments de la personne. Il a besoin de savoir. La puissance de la photographie est plus grande que l'aspect documentaire de celle-ci, car elle change nos sentiments intérieurs vers la réalité et provoque de subtiles vagues d'approche. Les photographes peuvent voir que nous le sommes tous vraiment. Après tout, nous sommes des humains, nous sommes tous pareils. La même chose.

 

La connexion entre nous est étrange mais belle et nécessaire. La relation entre les êtres respirants est la clé de la délicatesse de la conscience humaine. L'empathie fait de nous de meilleurs humains, nous fait croire à l'amour et à la compassion. Et l'empathie est le pouvoir absolu.

Tonight!
Phaidon
larger1.jpg
larger (1).jpg
IMG_3868.JPG
kashmir detail copy.jpg
larger.jpg
IMG_3848.JPG
a629aafb-2849-4a4c-aec1-7d45d3623337_750
IMG_3845.JPG
33509_h960w1600gt.5.jpg
fishermen detail1 copy.jpg
IMG_3897_edited.jpg
29492_h960w1600gt.5.jpg
1_WJ50uVNC8T12_aT8QMwFNw.jpeg
IMG_3882.JPG
IMG_3891.JPG
IMG_3895_edited.jpg
IMG_3887.JPG
Burma .jpg
SchoolGirl1992.jpg
GirlWithGreenShawl2002 copy.jpg
HorseFestival1999.jpg
Timbuktu Mali 1987.jpg
AGirlInHaridwar India1998.jpg
Tahoua1986.jpg
Gujarat2009.jpg
Woman in the Barkhor Lhasa2000.jpg
SmokingCoalMiner2002.jpg
AfghanNomadGirl1990 copy.jpg
YoungPilgrimChild2001.jpg
KuchiShepherd Kashmir1995.jpg
GirlInANewCoat2001 copy.jpg
TibetWomen2001.jpg
National Geographic

Power of Empathy

by Steve McCurry

December 7th, 2018 - March 7th, 2019

It is necessary a great amount of empathy to portray another person. How can it not? After all, we're humans, we're all the same. The exact same. Everyone has beauty inside, be it in the smile, on a gesture or even through a glance. And glances can be so powerful, just as powerful as empathy is.

 

Documentary photographer Steve McCurry is undoubtedly one of the most important and iconic photographers of our time. What makes him special is the empathy that floods from his lenses on to the weeping eye of the spectator, who then cannot be unconcerned to the wonderful sadness or the painful bliss within the colors. Textures that are now imprinted in our minds. The collective unconscious is then surrounded by the exuberance of each photograph. An agent of denunciation on the horrors of War, Steve McCurry brings to his audience peace. What is the difference between what is real and what is seen, and known only to his eyes? That same image, those same green eyes with the red shawl, that image is inserted into many people's subconscious. We all know that girl, we have seen her through his eyes. But he, oh he is the only one who knows her gaze. How does he not lose connection with the subjects of his sight? How does he not cry?

 

A good portrait photographer needs more than a good lighting and favorable skills, he needs the ability to connect with the person standing on the other side of his investigation. He needs to feel the person's feelings. He needs to know. The power of photography is greater than the documentary aspect of it, since it changes our inner feelings towards reality and provokes subtle waves of approach. Photographers can see we all really are. After all we are humans, we're all the same. The exact same.

 

The connection between us is uncanny but beautiful and necessary. The relation among breathing beings it's the key to the delicacy of human conscience. Empathy makes us better humans, makes us believe in love and compassion. And empathy is the absolute power.

33509_h960w1600gt.5.jpg